The Australian Government is continuing to take steps to slow the spread of coronavirus in Australia. Click here for the latest information and advice.

About Mitchell

The Mitchell electorate is named after Sir Thomas Mitchell (1792–1855), a noted Australian explorer and surveyor.

Mitchell covers an area of approximately 101 sq km from Nelson and Box Hill in the northwest to Northmead and North Rocks in the southeast.

The suburbs of the Mitchell electorate include Baulkham Hills, Beaumont Hills, Bella Vista, Box Hill, Castle Hill, Kellyville, Nelson, Northmead, North Rocks, Rouse Hill, Winston Hills and West Pennant Hills.

The main industry in the electorate is commercial and business services, light industry, education and retail.

The Members for Mitchell
Hawke, A (LP) 2007–

Cadman, A (LP) 1974–2007

Ashley-Brown, A (ALP) 1972–1974

Irwin, L H (LP) 1963–1972

Armitage, J L (ALP) 1961–1963

Wheeler, R C (LP) 1949–1961