About Alex

Alex Hawke was elected to Federal Parliament on 24 November 2007 as the Member for Mitchell, an electorate centred in the Hills Shire in Northwest Sydney.

Alex is currently the Assistant Defence Minister and Minister for International Development and the Pacific. Alex is working together with our Pacific family to ensure our region is secure, stable and sovereign. He has served in this role since 2019.

Prior to this role Alex has served as the Special Minister of State, the Assistant Minister for Home Affairs, the Assistant Minister for Immigration and Border Protection, and the Assistant Minister to the Treasurer.

Alex has also previously served in a number of parliamentary positions and on a number of committees including, as Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters.

The Mitchell electorate is changing rapidly, with many young families moving into expanding suburbs. The Mitchell community has so many innovative small and medium enterprises and their prosperity continues to be a core priority for the Morrison Government.

Alex is also an advocate for reducing the size and scope of government and the ongoing reduction of red and green tape for small and medium businesses. He continues to fight for more and better infrastructure for the Mitchell community, including social infrastructure like parks and playing fields.

Alex holds a Master of Government and Public Affairs and a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Sydney. He has also served as an Army Reserve Office. He has a deep interest in Australian history and is an avid supporter of the Parramatta Eels rugby league team.

Alex lives in Mitchell with his wife Amelia and their four sons, Jack, Lachlan, Thomas and Jonathan.

Ministerial Appointments

  • Assistant Defence Minister from 29.5.2019 to present
  • Minister for International Development and the Pacific from 29.5.2019 to present
  • Special Minister of State from 28.8.2018 to 29.5.2019
  • Assistant Minister for Home Affairs from 20.12.2017 to 28.8.2018
  • Assistant Minister for Immigration and Border Protection from 19.7.2016 to 20.12.2017
  • Assistant Minister to the Treasurer from 21.9.2015 to 19.7.2016